The University of Helsinki is represented in the EMBO elections

Dennis Bamford was elected Member of EMBO and Jussi Taipale to the Young Investigators Programme.

The University of Helsinki is represented in the EMBO elections Academy Professor Dennis Bamford from the University of Helsinki has been elected Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO). EMBO’s Young Investigator Programme in turn has a new member in Jussi Taipale, who is the Professor of Medical Systems Biology at the University of Helsinki and Research Professor at the National Public Health Institute.

The European Molecular Biology Organization promotes the highest level of bioscience in Europe. EMBO has approximately 1,200 members, 20 of whom are from Finland.

EMBO selects new Members every year on the basis of scientific excellence. This year, the number of new Members was 49. In addition to Professor Bamford, the new members included Research Professor Olli Kallioniemi from VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland.

Dennis Bamford is a Professor of Microbiology at the University of Helsinki Faculty of Biosciences, and heads the Centre of Excellence in Virus Research, which operates under the auspices of the Institute of Biotechnology and the Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences. Bamford’s own field is in the structure and development of viruses.

The new Finnish member of EMBO’s Young Investigators Programme, Professor Jussi Taipale, heads a group which is part of the Academy of Finland Centre of Excellence in Translational Genome-Scale Biology, the Nordic Centre of Excellence in Molecular Biology and Biocentrum Helsinki. Taipale is also the Director of the High Throughput Centre at Biomedicum Helsinki. Taipale’s research interests include particularly the growth of cells and organs as well as intercellular communication related to cancer.

EMBO’s Young Investigators Programme offers substantial support to young top scientists who have recently established their own research groups. Every year, a few new scientists are accepted onto the programme.

The Young Investigators Programme has already accepted three Finnish scientists, all from the University of Helsinki. This year, another new Finnish scientist accepted onto the programme was Academy of Finland Research Fellow Johanna Ivaska, who works for VTT in Turku and the Turku Centre for Biotechnology.

Further information on EMBO and the Young Investigator Programme.

See also the article on the Centre of Excellence in Translational Genome-Scale Biology and the Centre of Excellence on Virus Research.

Text: Mirja Mäenpää
Photo: Veikko Somerpuro

Translation: Valtasana Oy

News of the month »»
News archive »»
University of Helsinki