Helsinki University Museum is open

Helsinki University Museum has relocated to magnificent new facilities in the centre of Helsinki, in the Arppeanum building by Senate Square.

ArppeanumDesigned by the architect Carl Albert Edelfelt, the building was original built as the University’s chemistry laboratory and museum in 1869. Its name comes from the initiator of the project Adolf Edvard Arppe, who was Professor of Chemistry, Rector, and senator.

The oldest objects in Helsinki University Museum are the charter and silver sceptre of the Royal Academy of Turku from 1640. The University of Helsinki was originally established in Turku as the Royal Academy before it moved to Helsinki in 1828. The Museum also presents the development of Finnish pharmacy, medicine, veterinary medicine and dentistry. It also introduces the history of craft science, the Art Room and the geologists’ mineralogical and paleontological collections. The visitors will also learn about academic traditions and the past and present of student life. Those who climb to the fourth floor are rewarded by a rare gem: the full-length portraits of five Russian emperors have been put on display on the red walls of the Emperors’ Hall. The emperors acted as University Chancellors between 1816 and 1894.

Address: Snellmaninkatu 3. Open Tue–Fri 11am-5pm and Sat–Sun 11am-4pm.

More information on the Museum: www.halvi.helsinki.fi/museo.

Text: Niina Haasola
Photo: Ari Aalto
12.11.2003
www.helsinki.fi/digitalcommunications

Translation: Valtasana Oy

News of the month »»
News archive »»
University of Helsinki