Programme Director
Dennis Bamford

Department of Biosciences

Viikinkaari 9
(P.O. Box 56)
00014 University of Helsinki


Tel (mobile): +358 (0)2941 59100
Tel (office): +358 (0)2941 59099

Fax: +358 (0)9 386 7170

Programme on Molecular Virology

The Programme on Molecular Virology consist of research teams headed by four Principal Investigators Dennis Bamford, Hanna Oksanen, Minna Poranen and Elina Roine.

The Director of the Programme is Professor Emeritus Dennis Bamford.  Our Programme was preceded by two Academy of Finland Center of Excellences (CoEs), the CoE in Virus Research (2006-2011) and the CoE in Structural Virology (2000-2005), which laid the foundation for the deep exploration of the viral universe.

We are members of the road map activity European Union ESFRI Instruct offering access to state of the art structural biology infrastructures. Our Instruct Centre for virus and macromolecular complex purification (ICVIR) provides highly purified material for structural analyses (see Instruct/ICVIR at HU).

We are located at the University of Helsinki Viikki Campus (Biocenter 1) at the Department of Biosciences.