Contact Information

The Department of Modern Languages
PO Box 24
00014 University of Helsinki
Unioninkatu 40 B, 6th floor

+358-2-941 24480

nykykielet-toimisto [at]

The Department of Modern Languages is part of the
Faculty of Arts.



Welcome to the Department of Modern Languages!

The Department of Modern Languages was launched on 1 January 2010. The former departments had a key role in their specific disciplines in Finland. From this foundation, the new department consolidates its position as the leading Finnish educational organisation in the field, internationally renowned research community and appreciated educational institution.

Major subjects available for study at the Department of Modern Languages are English Philology, Translation of English, French Philology, Germanic Philology, Translation of German, Italian Philology, Spanish Philology, Portuguese Philology, West and South Slavonic Languages and Cultures, Baltic Languages and Cultures, Russian Language and Literature, Translation of Russian, General Linguistics (website in Finnish), and Language Technology.

Information on degree requirements and teaching is available through the WebOodi system.

TUHAT is the UH research database which introduces the recent publications and other scientific activities of each researcher.