Invited Lecturers - Updated: 24 October 2016

Prof. John Hall
Prof. John Hall Nobel Prize in Physics, 2005 (JILA & University of Colorado, Boulder, USA)
"Sub-Doppler laser molecular spectroscopy - 5 decades of world progress near (log) slope -1"

Prof. Mitchio Okumura
Prof. Mitchio Okumura (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA)
"Application of mid-IR frequency comb spectroscopy for free radical kinetics"

Prof. Kjeld Eikema
Prof. Kjeld Eikema (Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
"Deep-UV precision Ramsey-comb spectroscopy of molecular hydrogen"

Prof. Sune Svanberg
Prof. Sune Svanberg (University of Lund, Sweden)
"High resolution molecular spectroscopy in biology"

Prof. Stefan Willitsch
Prof. Stefan Willitsch (University of Basel, Switzerland)
"Precision spectroscopy of cold molecular ions in traps"

Prof. Walther Caminati
Prof. Walther Caminati (Università di Bologna, Italy)
"Chemical information from the rotational studies of homo and hetero binary mixtures of carboxylic acids"

Dr. Michael McCarthy
Dr. Michael McCarthy (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics & Harvard University, Cambridge, USA)
"Known unknowns and unknown unknowns: The search for new astronomical molecules in the laboratory"

Prof. Per Jensen
Prof. Per Jensen (Bergische Universität Wuppertal, Germany)
"Theoretical rovibronic energies of pathological molecules: Extreme floppiness and Born-Oppenheimer breakdown"

Prof. Dominik Marx
Prof. Dominik Marx (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany)
"Theoretical spectroscopy from ab initio molecular dynamics"

Prof. Massimo Inguscio
Prof. Massimo Inguscio (LENS: European Laboratory for Non-linear Spectroscopy, Firenze, Italy)
"Ultracold quantum gases"

Jean-Michel Hartmann
Prof. Jean-Michel Hartmann (Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France)
"Almost purely classical modeling of laser-induced molecular alignement and molecular line-shapes"

Spectroscopy for Bright Future

Prof. Aleksandra Foltynowicz-Matyba
Prof. Aleksandra Foltynowicz-Matyba (Umeå University, Sweden)
"Broadband precision spectroscopy with optical frequency comb Fourier transform spectroscopy"

Markku Vainio, Doc., Ph.D.
Markku Vainio, Doc., Ph.D. (University of Helsinki, Finland
"Miniature optical frequency combs for spectroscopy"

Dr. Simone Borri
Dr. Simone Borri (LENS: European Laboratory for Non-linear Spectroscopy, Firenze, Italy)
"Controlling quantum cascade lasers for high-resolution molecular spectroscopy in the mid IR"

Prof. Pascal Honvault
Prof. Pascal Honvault (Université de Bourgogne, Dijon, France)
"Quantum reaction dynamics of atmospheric and astrophysical systems"

Prof. Wei Ren
Prof. Wei Ren (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
"Mid-infrared fiber-optic photoacoustic spectroscopy for trace gas sensing"

Dr. Sergei Yurchenko
Dr. Sergei Yurchenko (University College London, Great Britain)
"Molecular spectroscopy from first principles"

Dr. Piera Raspollini
Dr. Piera Raspollini (IFAC-CNR, Sesto Fiorentino, Firenze, Italy)
"Ten years of MIPAS (Michelson interferometer for passive atmospheric sounding) measurements: What about spectroscopy?"

Dr. Séverine Boyé-Péronne
Dr. Séverine Boyé-Péronne (Institut des Sciences Moléculaires d'Orsay, Université Paris-Sud, France)
"Vacuum-ultraviolet photoexcitation and relaxation of gas-phase carbonated species"

Dr. Sandra Brünken
Dr. Sandra Brünken (Universität zu Köln, Germany)
"Rotational and vibrational spectroscopy in cryogenic ion traps: Fingerprinting molecular tracers for astrophysics"

Dr. Anouk Rijs
Dr. Anouk Rijs (Radboud University, Nijmegen, The Netherlands)
"Peptide folding and aggregation probed by far-IR action spectroscopy"

Dr. Marie-Aline Martin-Drumel
Dr. Marie-Aline Martin-Drumel (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics & Harvard University, Cambridge, USA)
"Microwave spectroscopy: A tool to study chemical reactions"

Contributed Presentations - Updated: 10 July 2017

6 presentations held by early stage postdoctoral fellows.

Dr. Francesco Cappelli (CNR, INO, Sesto Fiorentino, Firenze, Italy)
"Towards the full frequency stabilization of quantum cascade laser frequency combs"

Dr. Paul Jansen (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
"Fine structure of 4He2+ from Rydberg spectra of 4He2"

Dr. Andreas Hauser (Graz University of Technology, Austria)
"Rydberg states of alkali atoms on helium droplets: electrons in a Coulomb potential shielded by a superfluid dielectric"

Dr. Jalaal Norooz Oliaee (University of Calgary, Canada)
"Use of quantum-correlated twin beams for cancellation of power fluctuations in a continuous-wave optical parametric oscillator for high-resolution spectroscopy in the rapid scan mode"

Dr. Daniel Obenchain (Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Universität, Hannover, Germany)
"High resolution microwave spectroscopy and structure of the weakly bound Xe···OCS complex"

Dr. Sabrina Zinn (Max Planck Institute for the Structure & Dynamics of Matter, Hamburg, Germany)
"β-Estradiol: First rotationally resolved spectrum of a steroid hormone"

Special Events Speakers - Updated: 1 July 2017

Dean Esko Ukkonen
Dean Esko Ukkonen (University of Helsinki, Finland)
Dean of the Faculty of Science and Computer Science Professor Ukkonen will host the University of Helsinki welcome reception on Sunday, the 20th of August.

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Tim Softley
Pro-Vice-Chancellor Tim Softley (University of Birmingham, UK)
Pro-Vice-Chancellor Softley will be the conference banquet speaker on Thursday, the 24th of August.

Prof. Jürgen Troe
Prof. Jürgen Troe (Emeritus Director, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany)
Prof. Troe will deliver the conference closing address at the festive lunch on Friday, the 25th of August.