IYCr2014 - Crystallography in Finland

The International Year of Crystallography (IYCr) 2014 will be celebrated in Finland together with the Finnish Synchrotron Radiation Users' Organization (FSRUO) autumn school 2014.

Thus we are happy to announce

FSRUO Autumn School 2014

Photon based research at roadmap infrastructures
IYCr 2014: Crystallography in Finland

20-22 Oct. 2014, Oulu, Finland

Organized by:
Finnish Synchrotron Radiation Users' Organisation
Finnish National Committee for Crystallography

Registration to be done at the FSRUO Autumn School 2014 site

Registration deadline: 8 November 2014.
Registration deadline has now passed. Thank you for all registrants!

Practical information, how to reach us, venue, and accommodation: FSRUO Autumn School 2014 site

FSRUO2014 program


Monday 20.10.2014: FSRUO2014

11:00 – 12:00Registration for FSRUO & CryFi + Lunch
12:10 - 12:30Welcome words and opening remarks
12:30 - 13:15Harald Reichert (invited), ESRF, France
13:15 - 13:40Sami Heinäsmäki, Academy of Finland
13:40 - 14:10Heikki Suhonen, University of Helsinki
14:45 - 15:30Alexander Föhlisch (invited), Helmoltz Berlin, Germany
15:30 - 16:15Joakim Schulz (invited), European XFEL, Hamburg, Germany

Tuesday 21.10.2014: FSRUO2014 + CryFi

09:15 - 10:00Jesper Andersen (invited), MAX-IV Laboratory, Sweden
10:30 - 11:00Jyrki Lappalainen, University of Oulu, Finland
11:30 - 12:15Francis Penent (invited), Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France
14:00 - 14:45Inari Kursula (invited), Deutches Elektronen-Synchrotron, Germany
14:45 - 15:15Dang Trinh Ha, Madrid University, Spain
15:15 - 15:35Contributed speaker
15:35 - 15:55Contributed speaker
17:40 – 17:45Opening of CryFi – Kari Rissanen, Chair of the Finnish Crystallographic Committee
17:45 – 18:45Prof. Howard Flack (Geneva, Switzerland)
Chemical Crystallography:
“Absolute-Structure Determination: Past, Present and Future”
18:45 – 21:00Poster + reception

Wednesday 22.10.2014: CryFi

09:15 – 10:15Prof. Bernard Rupp (Insbruck, Austria and Vista, USA)
Biological Crystallography:
“What young crystallographers may learn from old philosophers"
10:15 – 11:15Helsinki
Adj. Prof. Martin Nieger, Chemical crystallography (UH)
Acad. Prof. Olli Ikkala, Physical crystallography (Aalto)
Acad. Prof. Maarit Karppinen, Chemical crystallography (Aalto)
11:15 – 11:30Coffee break
11:30 – 12:20Joensuu
Acad. Res. Nina Hakulinen, Biological crystallography (UEF, Joensuu)
Prof. Pasi Vahimaa, Physical crystallography (UEF, Joensuu)
12:20 – 13:00Oulu
Prof. Risto Laitinen, Chemical crystallography (OU)
Prof. Rik Wieringa, Biological crystallography (OU)
13:00 – 14:00Lunch break
14:00 – 15:00Prof. Pekka Suortti, University of Helsinki, Finland
Physical Crystallography:
Ninety years of physical crystallography at Helsinki University
15.00 – 15.40Tampere
Assoc. Prof. Minnamari Vippola, Physical crystallography (TTU)
Adj. Prof. Vesa Hytönen, Biological crystallography (TaU)
15:40 – 16:20Turku
Adj. Prof. Tassos Papgeorgiou, Biological crystallography (TU+ÅA)
Adj. Prof. Mika Lastusaari, Chemical crystallography (TU)
16:20 – 16:45 Coffee break
16:45 – 17:15Jyväskylä
Prof. Matti Haukka, Chemical crystallography (JU)
17:15 – 17:30 Closing of CryFi and FSRUO2014
Acad. Prof. Kari Rissanen and Prof. Marko Huttula


UH=University of Helsinki Aalto=Aalto University UEF=University of Eastern Finland
OU=University of Oulu TTU=Technical University of Tampere TaU=University of Tampere
TU=University of Turku ÅA=Åbo Akademi JU=University of Jyväskylä

Organised with kind support from: