intTT - An Integral teacher Training
  Home Partners Meetings Materials Student Mobility Seminars  

Karadeniz Technical University

Karadeniz Technical University

City of Trabzon is an old city for it has a 4000-year history. Trabzon has always been a cultural, economic and social center of the region. The city of Trabzon has a harbour and an airport that are very crucial for the economy of the city and region. Tourism makes a contribution to the city economy. 250,000 people live in the city, but with its towns and villages the population of Trabzon goes up to a million. In Trabzon, the most famous places to visit are Uzungöl, Sumela Monastery, Sophia Museum, Ataturk Pavilion and its mountainous areas. Further information:

Karadeniz Technical University (KTU) is the first university established outside Istanbul and Ankara. Founded in 1955, KTU was the fourth oldest university in Turkey. It has 15 faculties and 17 higher education institutions. KTU has three research institutes: Science, Social Science and Medical Science, with 1,667 academic staff. KTU is one of the largest populated Universities, with over 30,000 students. The University has many facilities for the students and staff, including sport centres, cafeterias, cultural and sport activity centres, a swimming pool, several dormitories etc. Further information:

Faculty of Education
Fatih Faculty of Education is also one of the most highly populated Faculties of Education in Turkey. It has 115 academic staff and 55 research assistants, 9 academic departments with 20 subject areas and about 7000 student teachers. The Faculty prepares student teachers for pre-schools, schools for handicapped people, primary and secondary schools. The Faculty of Education, as a leading Faculty of Education in Turkey, also has Master and Doctorate programmes and a strong research tradition. Further information:

This project has been funded with support from the European Commission.
This web-page and documents/publications which could be downloaded here reflect the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.
Lifelong Learning Programme
University of Alcalá
University of Helsinki
Karadeniz Techincal University
Comenius University