intTT - An Integral teacher Training
  Home Partners Meetings Materials Student Mobility Seminars  

University of Helsinki

University of Helsinki

Helsinki was founded by King Gustav Vasa of Sweden in 1550 on the mouth of the Vantaa River. In 1917 Helsinki became the capital of the independent Republic of Finland. As the 20th century progressed, Helsinki earned its place among the world's metropolises. Today, Helsinki is an archetypal 21st century city, enjoying the comforts of an ultramodern infrastructure and the reassurance of its unspoilt nature.

Population in the Helsinki region is about 1.3 million and there are actually four separate cities, Helsinki, Espoo, Vantaa and Kauniainen. Approximately one-quarter of Finns live in the metropolitan area, as well as the majority of non-nationals living in Finland. Jobs are also concentrated in the region. In addition to public administration, the metropolitan area is also the indisputable centre of trade, culture and science. The head offices of the most prominent Finnish enterprises, the most famous museums and eight of the twenty universities in Finland are located in the metropolitan area.
Further information:

The University of Helsinki has the widest range of disciplines in Finland. It was established in Turku in 1640, but was transferred to Helsinki in 1828. The number of faculties is eleven. There are 38,000 degree students and 7,600 staff. The number of degrees taken each year is almost 4,300, of which 400 are doctorates.

The University concentrates on high-level scientific research and researcher education. Scientific research is also the basis of the teaching provided by the University. The University operations support the development of society, as well as business and industry. University representatives offer their competences for the benefit of society through a number of positions of trust and expertise.

The University has strong international connections. It has some 80 co-operation agreements with universities on different continents. The University researchers are in great demand as experts in international scientific communities, meetings and publications.
Further information:

The Department of Teacher Education is one of the two Departments of the Faculty of Behavioural Sciences and it is one of the largest departments of the University of Helsinki.

The Department is divided into six sections:

  • Class teacher education
  • Craft Science and Textiles teacher education
  • Home Economics and Home Economics teacher education
  • Kindergarten teacher and early childhood education
  • Subject teacher education
  • Special education

In addition, the Department has thirteen research centres, which are organised according to different areas of expertise. The Department strives for interconnectedness between high-level research and teaching. The aim is to educate professional teachers for early childhood education, basic education, and upper secondary education, who possess adequate skills, knowledge and readiness to carry out, analyse, and develop teaching, day care and school education.

The activities of the Department build on versatile scientific, practical and societal expertise, as well as on wide-ranging national and international networking and co-operation. The Department of Teacher Education is co-operating closely with the other departments of the University of Helsinki, the Teacher Training Schools, and a network of field schools. Additionally, the Department has a lot of international contacts especially to many European universities. Moreover, the Department actively takes part in continuing education and open university education.
Further information: http:/

This project has been funded with support from the European Commission.
This web-page and documents/publications which could be downloaded here reflect the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.
Lifelong Learning Programme
University of Alcalá
University of Helsinki
Karadeniz Techincal University
Comenius University