Majors and specialisation options

Department of Forest Sciences has three majors that are divided into several fields of specialisation. If you wish to study Forest economics and marketing or Forest ecology and management, you can apply to the MSc programme in Forest Sciences and Business (MScFB). If you are interested in Forest biotechnology, you can apply to the MSc progamme in Biotechnology (MBIOT).

Forest economics and marketing

  • Forest products marketing and management
  • Business economics of forestry


Forest ecology and management

  • Forest and peatland management and restoration
  • Production ecology
  • Forest soil science
  • Forest pathology and mycology
  • Forest entomology
  • Wildlife management
  • Forest resource management
  • Forest technology and logistics
  • Wood technology
  • Tropical forestry and agroforestry



  • The major is organized by four different departments from two faculties.
  • Study lines are Animal Biotechnology, Food Biotechnology, Microbial and Environmental Biotechnology and Plant and Forest Biotechnology.