Faculty of Science

The Nordic Aerosologist Award goes to Professor Hanna Vehkamäki

Professor Hanna Vehkamäki from the department of Physics is awarded the Aerosologist Award 2013 for her important work on atmospheric aerosols and for support of Nordic collaboration.

Aerosols constitute one of the largest uncertainties affecting our ability to predict future climate change as a result of human influence. Hanna Vehkamäki has an impressive experience in the field of aerosol science where her work has significantly improved our knowledge on the role of aerosol particles and their effects on climate, particularly the formation and growth of newly formed particles in the atmosphere.

Vehkamäki has been active in applying computational aerosol physics on deepening the theoretical understanding of the formation of the very smallest molecular clusters in the atmosphere. In the beginning of her career, she pioneered the study on different nucleation theories resulting in several important publications and a textbook on “Classical Nucleation Theory in Multicomponent Systems”. She currently pursues similar lines of research with a special interest in the formation and composition of the smallest atmospheric particles.

Professor Hanna Vehkamäki has collaborated within the Nordic Countries and been one of the initiators of the “Women’s aerosol train” in 2011. Further on she was a member of the Nordic Society for Aerosol Research (NOSA) board for several years and co-organizer of the annual symposium of NOSA.

She is thus, by this award, recognised for being a key person for the achievements of NOSA.

Text: Minna Meriläinen-Tenhu