Contact Information

Baltic Languages and Cultures belongs to the Department of Modern Languages.

P.O. Box 24 (Unioninkatu 40 B)
FI-00014 University of Helsinki

News Blog and Archive

On 1 January 2010, the Department of Slavonic and Baltic Languages and Literatures at Helsinki University merged with the English Department, the German Department, the Department of Romance Languages, and the Department of General Linguistics to make up a new Department of Modern Languages. The subjects formerly taught in the Slavonic and Baltic Department — Baltic Languages and Cultures, Russian Language and Literature, Translation of Russian, and West and South Slavonic Languages and Cultures — have accordingly become part of the teaching programme of the new department.