Department information Contact Information

Department of Agricultural Sciences
P.O. Box 27
(Latokartanonkaari 5)
FI-00014 University of Helsinki

Student services:
Registration of credits:
PhD Studies:
Mobility services:
Human resources:
Communication services:


Viikki Campus

The Department of Agricultural Sciences commenced its activities on 1 January 2010, when the reform of the departmental structure of the Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry entered into force and four departments were formed from the faculty’s previous nine departments. The Department of Agricultural Sciences saw light when the previous departments of Agricultural Engineering, Animal Science and Applied Biology were merged. Simultaneously, the Viikki research farm, Suitia research farm and Muddusjärvi research station were placed under the auspices of the department.

The merger of the departments gave rise to many mutually supporting dimensions of organisation. One of the most important achievements of the merger was to bring all facets of agricultural research and teaching (plant production, animal production and agricultural and environmental engineering) under the same roof, which enables effective utilisation of the multidisciplinary nature of the new department in research, teaching and societal interaction.