For providing research and teaching, the university is divided into faculties and departments. The faculties award degrees to the students.              

The University of Helsinki has eleven faculties:

Faculties are managed by deans. The faculty council is a multi-member administrative body responsible for developing the activities of the faculty as a whole, under the supervision of the dean.

A faculty can comprise various departments, independent institutes, and departments common to the faculties at the discretion of the University Board.